Bombay Ochre Leather Wrap Journal with Tie Review

I am a journal-er. I write all the time, every day. Before I started to use fountain pens my daily journal was just a lined Moleskine journal, but once I started writing with fountain pens I realized I wanted something a little more fountain pen friendly. Leather journals have always appealed to me so I thought I would try one out. I wanted to find one that was decently affordable – in the past I had only seen them for around $50 in my local Barnes and Noble. I ventured into the store again about a month ago in search for a Moleskine Dotted Notebook and came across the Bombay Ochre Leather Wrap Journal with Tie. For $19.95 I had to try it.

The Look.

WP_20150822_003

The color is actually more of a tan versus the orange-y color shown on the Barnes and Noble website – I personally prefer the tan color over the orange-y one anyway. The cover is a soft, suede-like leather material and is very appealing. The tie is nice but is a little on the loose side. I through my journal around a LOT and the tie tends to loosen up a lot. The journal is broken up into 4 64-paged sections for a total of 256 pages – this is nice if you need a notebook with different sections. It has a nice 6″ x 8.5″ size, which is a pretty standard size for any journal.  Overall, I like the look; it has a nice old-timey feel to it and that is something that appeals to me.

The Paper.

WP_20150823_009

The paper in this journal is a heavy, thick, textured paper. It’s absorbent and dries fairly well. I have had some issues with smearing, but it doesn’t happen too often. I have been very happy with the paper. It doesn’t bleed through, nor does it show through. Those are both very good qualities in a journal I use everyday.

WP_20150823_011

WP_20150823_008

Because the paper is a little more on the absorbent side, there was a little bit of feathering with the 2 Jinhao pens. I mostly saw it in the Jinhao x450 which was filled with the Lamy Turquoise. It is very minimal, but I understand the people who prefer a smoother paper. I have had a good experience so far with the journal (I’ve written about 70 pages in the past 3 weeks) and I am happy with the purchase.

WP_20150823_005

Southpaw note: The first section is a little tricky to write on. I had some issues where I couldn’t go all the way to the inside of the page when writing on the right side of the notebook because the binding is a little looser and each section has its own binding. Because of this I had to shift over my starting point on those pages until I got to the end of the section. It just made starting each line a little awkward.

CONCLUSION!

Overall, I have really enjoyed this journal. For $20, it was definitely worth checking out. I know I’ll get another one of these once I have filled all of the pages in the current one.

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or requests don’t hesitate to comment here or email me at lexie9894@live.com.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

