Upcoming Releases and Things to Check Out

Over the past 2 weeks or so, we have seen some very exciting news and releases in the world of fountain pens and inks. I just wanted to take a minute to highlight some of the things that I am very excited about!

Pilot Metropolitan Retro Pop

Pilot Metropolitan Retro Pop – Photo from gouletpens.com

I am very excited about these pens! They will be release in November 2015 at the same price as the other Pilot Metropolitans that are currently available (around $15). I love how these pens have a classy look, but then also have a “pop” of retro, color, and fun. I will definitely be picking up at least one of these when they go on sale. The Metropolitan is a great, affordable pen that everyone needs in their collection. I will probably be picking up the green one and hopefully a nice ink to match. If you have any suggestions for a green ink to match the green Metropolitan, mention it in the comments!

Diamine Shimmering Ink Collection

Diamine Shimmering Ink Collection – Photo from gouletpens.com

After all of the excitement over the J. Herbin 1670 inks, Diamine decided to give us their own collection of shimmertastic inks. The line of sheening inks will be available in 50mL bottles in October 2015. I haven’t seen any news on how much they will be going for, so let’s hope they won’t be too expensive!

One thing I really like about Diamine’s line of inks is that it features inks with both gold AND silver flecks in them which I think is awesome. There are quite a few of these I have listed on my wish list and I am excited to pick up a couple samples (or bottles…) when they come out in October!

If you would like to see any of the current ink reviews out there for these inks, you can find them on the forums at fpgeeks.com or fountainpennetwork.com.

TWSBI 580AL Blue

A recent announcement from TWSBI stated that the 580AL Purple will be discontinued, so if you are interested in that now is the time to pick one up. That being said, with the announcement of the purple being discontinued we also got a preview of the next 580AL coming out: Blue.

5 different prototypes for the 580AL – Photo from TWSBI Facebook Page

All of these colors are beautiful, but I am especially excited for this blue one to come out soon! There hasn’t been a release date for this pen yet, but whenever I see it I’ll make sure to post it up here on the blog.

Alright! That’s all I have for upcoming releases and things to check out. I will be having a couple of reviews here soon (hopefully) so keep an eye out for those!

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or requests don’t hesitate to comment here or email me at lexie9894@live.com.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Upcoming Releases and Things to Check Out

  1. That is an absolutely gorgeous color! I too have been stewing over a VP and that color might just push me over. Will closely check out my other Pilot nibs to ensure I get just the right size. On another note, I see in your wish list that you wish for an ink sample stand. I couldn’t drop the $$ for the fancy ones out there so made my own. We live in the woods and have ample access to trees/firewood. I sliced some “tree cookies” and drilled holes to accommodate my Goulet Pen samples. Its really cool and works perfectly. Im sure there’s lots of other creative materials that could work well too. Just thought I’d share. Pic on my IG at TheJotterNook.. Again, congrats on your VP!

    Like

Leave a Reply

