Pilot Vanishing Point Pen Review

Guys, I did it. I bought my grail pen – the Pilot Vanishing Point. I am super excited about this pen, and wanted to share it by reviewing it! I have been very happy with this pen, and it was a great first gold nib pen.

Pilot Vanishing Point Desert Orange

WP_20150903_005

About

Specifications:

Body Material: Metal
Trim: Black
Length (capped): 140mm
Barrel Diameter: 13mm
Nib material: 18k gold
Weight: 30 g
Fill type: Cartridge/Converter
Price: $140
Where to buy: Goulet Pens, Anderson Pens

Packaging

The packaging of the Pilot Vanishing Point is pretty simple, but effective for this pen. It isn’t an outrageous design, but it does show off the pen quite nicely.

WP_20150903_002

WP_20150903_004

Under the part of the case the pen sits contains the cartridge and the cartridge sleeve. The converter comes already inside the pen so you’re ready to go with bottled ink.

I like how the case has a leather-like look – it’s a nice added flair to the simple case that Pilot is using.

Appearance

I really like the Desert Orange Vanishing Point. The orange finish has a sparkle/glitter to it that is hard to see in the pictures, but it a very nice touch to the pen. The contrasting matte black accents on the click part of the pen, end of the pen, and the clip helps bring out the orange on the pen.

Another thing that is very nice is the black-plated nib. It matches the black trim on the pen while also having that same quality you expect out of the 18k gold nib on the Pilot Vanishing Point.

WP_20150903_006

NIB AND PERFORMANCE

The 18k gold nib on this pen is superb. It is a very smooth writer and just glides across all of the types of paper I have used it to write on. The pen has no starting or stopping issues – I click it open and it writes as soon as it touches the paper. Another thing I noticed that is a good aspect of the pen is that the nib and feed can keep up when you are writing fast – there is no skipping, etc. The performance of this pen is fantastic.

20150903_154546

IN HAND FEEL AND BALANCE

The pen is very balanced in the hand – it sits right in the middle and isn’t top heavy or bottom heavy. It has a little weight to it at 30g, but I think that gives it a nice feel when writing. It is a metal pen and because of how the nib unit is set up I can see why it has a little more weight to it, but that isn’t a bad thing. It is a quality I enjoy from the pen.

The one thing that could be a turn off for people would be the clip placement. Because we have to store fountain pens with the tip up so ink doesn’t get anywhere, the clip is on the side with the nib. For me personally, I do not mind the clip and I think that it helps my grip from slipping. I can see how this would not be good for someone who has a strange grip on their pen.

The click mechanism is very easy to use and makes this pen great for on the go notes, etc. I love that about this pen.

PROS AND CONS

WP_20150903_029 (1)

CONCLUSION!

Overall, I am very happy with this pen and would recommend as a must-have for any fountain pen user. I think that this is a great first gold nib pen for anyone. If your grip doesn’t think that the clip is obtrusive, then you should pick up this great writer.

WP_20150903_008

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or requests don’t hesitate to comment here or email me at lexie9894@live.com.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

