Edison Nouveau Premiere Fall 2015 Edition – Midnight Thunder Review

I recently purchased my first Edison pen from Goulet Pens and have so far have enjoyed my experiences writing with it. I just thought I would share my first impressions and overall review of this pen.

Hope you enjoy!

Edison Nouveau Premiere Fall 2015 Edition – Midnight Thunder

20151001_161430

About

Specifications:

Body Material: Resin
Color: Blue
Length (capped): 150mm
Length (posted): 172mm
Barrel Diameter: 23.5mm
Nib material: Stainless Steel
Weight: 17g
Fill type: Cartridge/Converter
Price: $149
Where to buy: Goulet Pens until December 2015.

Packaging

When I received the pen, it was in a nice case. The red color and the pattern on it are very attractive and are a great way to present the pen. Since this is a special edition pen, I would think that it would be better to put it in a case that matches the pen a little more – maybe a nice navy blue. Nevertheless, the case is beautiful.

20151001_161815

After opening up the case, you see that the pen is fit very snug inside it. This is great because it shows that the pen was protected during the shipping. It takes a little bit on umfph to pull it out but that is okay. I also enjoyed the Edison Pen Company logo on the inside of the box. It is very professional, and bring the whole ensemble together.

20151001_161833

Overall, I think the presentation is great. The Edison Pen Company really has the art of this ensemble down to a T. You can tell that the packaging is the result of a lot of effort on their part.

Appearance

One of the reasons to buy  one of these pens is that the Edison Nouveau Premiere line is the color choices that the Grays and the Goulets decide on for each of the pens. The color scheme for the Midnight Thunder pen is fantastic. The pen has a dark navy blue base with white and red accents; the dark blue almost seems black but in the light the blue shows itself and sparkles.

20151001_161449

The design of the Premiere pen has two points on the ends, one on the cap and one on the bottom of the pen. I could see how this could turn people off to this pen. The points are bold and make a statement and that is something I personally like about it.

Nib and Performance

I ordered a fine nib when purchasing this pen and have been overjoyed with its performance. The line thickness and variation are very similar to the TWSBI Eco nib I have. The Edison nib needs almost no pressure to put down a nice line and that is something I have enjoyed. A lot of my experience with cheaper steel nib pens is that sometimes they take a bit more pressure to write with. You can tell when writing with this nib that it is not cheap. It writes very well and has had no startup or stopping issues when I’ve been using it.

20151001_161704

I have little experience with gold nibs, as the Vanishing Point is my only gold nib pen, but I currently think I prefer steel nibs and the Edison nib is by far my favorite I have tried so far.

In Hand Feel and Balance

The pen is a very lightweight pen at 17g. It is also a very slim pen which is good for me because I have very small hands. Overall, I like the balance and feel in my hand. I prefer the pen posted when I am writing versus unposted. When it is unposted the pen feels a little small and off-balance – for anyone who has larger hands I would suggest keeping the pen posted when writing.

20151001_161612

Overall, the weight of the pen and the slimness of the pen are two qualities I find very nice in a pen. It is easy to write with for long periods of time when I am taking notes at school or when I am having a long writing session when journaling or writing letters.

Pros and Cons

20151001_161719

Conclusion

Overall, I love this pen. The appearance, the nib performance, the balance of the pen, and the overall pen in general are great. The quality and craftsmanship in this pen are great for the price. The steel nib is phenomenal and I am excited to see what other colors and designs the Grays and the Goulets come up with next.

For more information about The Edison Pen Company, visit their website here. If you would like to see more pens that The Goulet Pen Company is offering, you can visit their website here.

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or requests don’t hesitate to comment here or email me at lexie9894@live.com.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Edison Nouveau Premiere Fall 2015 Edition – Midnight Thunder Review

Leave a Reply

