Custom Newton Gibby Pen Review

Hey everyone! I received another pen this week that I am really excited about – a Newton Pen! When I first started reading about different pens, I was really interested in Newton Pens because of how amazing Shawn Newton’s products are as well as the message he brings to the fountain pen community with his scholarship fund for highschool students.

I did not create the design for this pen, it was all Shawn Newton. It was a pen that he had listed on his “Sales” section of his website. I have started at this pen for a couple of weeks now, wishing I could purchase it. I was able to pick up a couple hours at a local gaming store so I decided to buy the pen.

Custom Newton Gibby Pen – Small

20151004_163749

About

Specifications:

Body Material: Ebonite and Acrylic
Color: Black, Blue, and Brown
Nib material: Stainless Steel
Fill type: Cartridge/Converter
Price: $250

Packaging

One of my favorite things to see when it comes to packaging is that the packaging is one that protects the pen and is attractive. Shawn’s packaging not only accomplishes these things, but is also very practical! Whenever you order a pen, it comes packaged in a pen wrap made by Elizabeth Newton, Shawn’s wife, and delivered in a very nice tumbler mug! I think this is the best packaging anyone could do. Having something practical that someone can use everyday is much better than a case that will just be sitting in a box. On top of that, the pen wrap is very good for keeping your pen protected.

20151004_163243

I really hope that other pen makers will adopt this practical style of packaging. Love.

Appearance

Like I said, I stared at this pen on Shawn’s website for weeks because of how amazing it looked.

The pen is absolutely beautiful with the blue and brown acrylic body and the black ebonite for the grip and the cap. I love how much dimension that the blue and brown acrylic has in it – it’s things like this that I find beautiful and artistic. Another thing that caught my eye are the sliver bands. It shows off the acrylic even more because of the barrier it makes between it and the ebonite.

20151004_163824

Nib and Performance

The nib is amazing, absolutely amazing. Shawn did a great job with the custom grind. When I sent him a description of I wanted, it was a mangled mess of words and Shawn did a great job interpreting it. The fine stub nib is the exact width that I want – a nib that can I use for everyday writing with a little bit of flair. And this is the exact thing that I received. No complaints whatsoever. I think I’ve fallen even more in love with steel nibs than I originally thought I had.

20151004_164157

In Hand Feel and Balance

For me, the pen is a little large (I have small hands), but the pen is lightweight so that doesn’t matter too much. It is much more balanced unposted, but I can’t help but write with a pen posted. Even when it is posted, it still feels pretty good in my hand.

The ebonite is a great material for the grip as well. It is easy to hold, not slippery at all, and a beautiful material. I love how this pen feels in my hand.

20151004_163455

Keep in mind that this is a SMALL pen if you get a custom pen. Shawn offers slim, small, medium, large, and oversized pens. If you get one, just make sure you are getting the right size.

Pros and Cons

20151004_164136

Conclusion

Overall, I absolutely am in love with this pen, even if it is a little big. I think when I graduate I’ll design a pen of my own to order from Shawn, but this time I’ll do it in a slim size. The fine stub nib is amazing and I can’t wait to get another one!

If you want to read more and Shawn Newton and Newton Pens, visit his website here and see The Pen Addict’s interview with Shawn here.

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or requests don’t hesitate to comment here or email me at lexie9894@live.com.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Custom Newton Gibby Pen Review

Leave a Reply

